Libertarian Resources

So, let’s say you want to read what I read and have read so you can be just like me.  Well, that may not be likely, but, if you are reading this, you might, at least, be curious.  So here you go.

I was introduced to libertarianism by watching people like Ayn Rand and Milton Friedman, both of whom occasionally showed up on the old Phil Donahue Show. The PBS series “Free to Choose” and the companion book, were an excellent introduction to free market principles.   I stumbled on a book called “Restoring the American Dream”, written by Robert Ringer and that book pointed to a number of additional resources that I followed.  The book that ultimately made me the hard-core Anarcho-capitalist nut I am today was called “For A New Liberty” by Murray Rothbury.  Two additional books I highly recommend are the philosophical masterpiece, “Anarchy, State and Utopia” by Robert Nozick and, perhaps, best of all, “Economics In One Lesson” by Henry Hazlett.

I recommend the Mises Institute for the most cogent economic thought.  That being said, the Cato Institute is very good at providing incremental proposals that could conceivably be incorporated into public policy.   And, while it is not the most consistently libertarian publication, Reason magazine is, on day to day issues, the best mainstream source of libertarian ideas in the print media.  I subscribe to their monthly magazine and encourage you to do the same.

Iconoclastic media figures like John Stossel, Andrew Napolitano and Kennedy are usually worth watching.  Among politicians, Ron Paul and his son Rand Paul are likely the best elected officials over the last couple of decades.  Justin Amish and Thomas Massie are also usually pretty good.  Gary Johnson may have been a lousy candidate but most of positions are sound.  I love Glenn Greenwald for his foreign policy insights.  Antiwar dot com is another good source for that.

That being said, I like to expose myself to most any non-mainstream source of information I can.   Whether it comes from the far left or far right, those sources are, at the very least, likely to challenge the status quo and provide some insights into the unhealthy relationship between economic and political power.  Failure to recognize the collusion between those power sources is likely to turn one into an annoying Republican.

The best recommendation I can make is actually a negative one:  avoid any significant reliance on any mainstream news outlets from Fox on the right to CNN on the left.  They are more about advancing an agenda than providing impartial information.  There is almost always a focus on the sensational and personal over the rational.  And that is leaving aside their Red/Blue, Crips/Bloods characterization of American politics.  

So there you have it.  I do hope you will check out some of the sources I have suggested.  I think you will get a lot of good insights if you do.  Until next time, thanks for following along and have a great weekend!

One thought on “Libertarian Resources

  1. Hazlitt’s Economics in One Lesson was the first libertarian work I ever read (excluding a few old school anarchist tracts).

    Like

Leave a Reply

